Distinguished Entrepreneurial Achievement Award

The Gumtows receiving DEAA 2017
Vicki and Karl Gumtow receiving DEAA at 2017 NVC Finals

The Distinguished Entrepreneurial Achievement Award (DEAA) is an annual award of recognition given by the GW Entrepreneurs Round Table (GWERT) and the Office of Entrepreneurship to individuals who have attained notable achievements and success in the field of entrepreneurship.


  • The recipient must have attained notable achievement and success as an entrepreneur.
  • The recipient must be in attendance at the designated ceremony in order to receive the award. 

Selection Committee

  • GW Entrepreneurs Round Table (GWERT) Alumni Leaders: David Moore (MBA, GWSB, '80), Tejbir Phool (MSEE, SEAS, ’04), and Peter Weissman (JD, GW Law School, ’96)
  • Jim Chung, Associate Vice President for Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Lex McCusker, Director of Student Entrepreneurship
  • Up to 2 representatives from the Division of Development and Alumni Relations
  • Up to 2 past Distinguished Entrepreneurial Achievement Award Recipients

2017 DEAA Ceremony

2016 DEAA Ceremony