DEAA Past Recipients

The Distinguished Entrepreneurial Achievement Award (DEAA) was created by the GW Entrepreneurs Round Table (GWERT), a university-wide group of individuals who support the advancement of entrepreneurship at GW.
GWERT and the GW Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship award this honor to a successful GW entrepreneur whose accomplishments inspire and motivate our aspiring entrepreneurs. The award is traditionally presented during the GW New Venture Competition Finals.
Previous Recipients:
  • 2018 - John Rollins, Former GW Staff, Founder - GW New Venture Competition
  • 2017 - Vicki and Karl Gumtow, SEAS ‘91 and ‘92, co-founders of CyberPoint
  • 2016 - Fadi Ghandour, CCAS '81 - Founder and Vice Chairman, Aramax International and Managing Partner, Wamda Capital
  • 2015 - Michael Quinn, ESIA '84 - Partner, Q Advisors
  • 2014 - Roland Schumann, MSc '97 - Co-Founder of SwapDrive, Inc.
  • 2013 - T. Richard Stroupe, SEAS MS '01 - President and CEO, Sequoia Holdings
  • 2012 - Dr. Terry Collins, SEAS DSc '76. -Vice President and General Manager, Electronic and Mission Systems, Boeing Network and Space Systems
  • 2011 - Edward R. Barrientos, GWSB MBA '90 - President and CEO, Brazen, Inc.
  • 2010 - Linda Rabbitt, GSEHD MA '72 - GW Trustee; Founder and CEO, Rand Construction Corporation
  • 2009 - Asghar Mostafa, SEAS BS '82 - President & CEO/Founder, Rubriq Corporation
  • 2008 - Richard Scott - Richard Scott is the 45th Governor of the State of Florida, as well as a successful entrepreneur. Governor Scott and the First Lady of the State of Florida, Annette Scott, are the founding sponsors of the GW New Venture Competition.